This annual prize is awarded to the AMREP first or senior author whose original research paper was published in the previous year in the journal with the highest impact factor. 

Prof Jamie Cooper received the prize in its inaugural year: 2005, and again in 2008. These prizes were for the articles ‘Prehospital hypertonic saline resuscitation of patients with hypotension and severe traumatic brain injury: a randomized controlled trial’ (Journal of the American Medical Association, 2004) and ‘Saline or albumin for fluid resuscitation in patients with traumatic brain injury’ (New England Journal of Medicine, 2007).

He has won it again this year for "Decompressive craniectomy in diffuse traumatic brain injury." N Eng J Med 2011;364:1493-502.


 A/Prof Davies won it in 2010 for his article entitled ‘Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation for 2009 influenza A (H1N1) acute respiratory distress syndrome’ was published in the Journal of the American Medical Association (impact factor: 30.7).


Back to 2012 News