Associate Professor Steve Bernard wins prestigious Frank McDermott Award for 2012 for his work "Bernard SA, Nguyen V, Cameron P, Masci K, Fitzgeral M, Cooper DJ, Walker T, Myles P, Murray L, Taylor D, Smith K, Patrick I, Edington J, Bacon A, Rosenfeld J, Judson R. : Pre-hospital rapid sequence intubation improves functional outcome for patients with severe traumatic brain injury : A randomized, controlled trial. Annals of Surgery. 2010 Dec;252(6):959-65. PMID: 21107105"





Frank McDermott Award                                       

Francis Thomas McDermott AM MB BS MD FRACS FRCS(Eng)FACS trained in general surgery in the UK. After his return to Australia in 1966 he was appointed lecturer in the Monash University Department of Surgery, Alfred Hospital. In 1979 he was appointed Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery and Associate Professor in 1994. He retired from The Alfred in 1996 and is presently Honorary Professor in the Departments of Surgery at The Alfred, Monash University, and Austin Health, The University of Melbourne.

 During 1982‐96, as Chair of the Victorian Road Trauma Committee of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, he initiated and promoted strategies to reduce road injuries, including the zero blood alcohol limit for learner and probationary drivers and mandatory safety helmet wearing for bicyclists. These initiatives were based on his research findings. His injury prevention work contributed to a dramatic reduction to Victoria’s road toll during the late 1980s and early 1990s. In 1992, with Professor Stephen Cordner of the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine, Professor McDermott established the Consultative Committee on Road Traffic Fatalities (CCRTF). The Committee examined the emergency and clinical care received by all people who died from road traffic crashes.They found that one third of deaths were preventable or potentially preventable, and systems and management deficiencies contributing to death existed in all stages of care, including pre‐hospital,the emergency department, the operating theatre, and the intensive care unit. Their findings and recommendations led to a Ministerial Taskforce on Trauma and Emergency Services in 1999, and subsequently to the development in 2001 of the now widely‐regarded Victorian State Trauma System. Subsequently the mortality risk has been halved. The CCRTF’s activities are recognised as one of the world’s most influential and effective trauma quality improvement initiatives.

 He has received numerous awards including Member of the Order of Australia for services to the community, particularly in accident prevention and treatment of road trauma victims (1994); Honorary Membership of the American Association of Surgery for Trauma (1999), and the Distinguished Service Medal of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (2002). In 1978‐79 and 1993‐94 he was twice honoured with the Hunterian Professorship of the Royal College of Surgeons of England.

The Frank McDermott Award is an award for excellence and impact. It is awarded to the research study completed and published in the last 10 years that is judged to have led to the greatest improvements in care of severely injured patients in Australia or New Zealand.

National Trauma Research Institute
The National Trauma Research Institute (NTRI) aims to increase survival and quality of life by improving care of the injured through more effective treatments, higher quality care, and better trauma systems. The Frank McDermott Award is an honour bestowed in support of this mission. The prize 


  • An inscribed plaque .
  • A return airfare for the principal investigator to attend the ceremony

Selection of the winner will be by a panel comprising representatives of the NTRI, the RACS Trauma Committee and the Australasian Trauma Society.


The Award will be conferred at the annual NTRI conference each November. The recipient will be invited to give a presentation on their research, its implementation, and the impact it has made. In the event that the principal investigator is unable to attend the ceremony, a representative of the project team may be nominated to receive the award and give the presentation on behalf of the team.


Nominations can be made by submitting an application to by 31 October 2011. Late applications will not be accepted, and applicants must be residents of  Australia or New Zealand.
Applications must include an abstract about the research, and evidence demonstrating that the research has influenced the care of severely injured patients in Australia or New Zealand over the last 10  years. Applications must be no longer than 600 words, and may include one table and/or one figure. Self‐nomination is permitted. Applicants can win the award only once for a single project. Unsuccessfulapplicants are encouraged to apply again in following years.


Back to 2012 News